2007 Awards

2007 Awards

Two Structural Engineering Students Receive National Awards

Two SE students, out of over 500 competitors at the 2007 National Conference of the Society for Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS) held in Kansas City, Missouri earlier this year received "Awards in Engineering." Jorge Ortiz conducted research under Professor Chia-Ming Uang this past summer as part of CAMP's Summer Research Program. Jorge will continue his research under the direction of Professor Uang in Winter and Spring ’08 as part of UCSD’s Faculty Mentor Program. Jorge worked on the MHP project with the Navy (Principal Investigator: Prof. Shing and Co-PI: Prof. Chia-Ming Uang). SE student Robert Valtierra conducted his research independently. To read the full story, click here.

Jacobs School of Engineering Awards Professor Uang "Best Teacher" Award

Dr. Jeanne Ferrante, Acting Dean, recently presented Professor Chia-Ming with its "Best Teacher 2006-2007." Professor Uang received the popular vote by students completing surveys.

Prof. Francesco Lanza di Scalea awarded 2007 Structural Health Monitoring Person of the Year

Professor Francesco Lanza di Scalea was awarded the 2007 Structural Health Monitoring Person of the Year Award for “outstanding contributions in the field of Structural Health Monitoring”. The Person of the Year is selected by the editorial board, associate editors and editors of Structural Health Monitoring: An International Journal, following a nomination procedure. National Medal of Science recipient Prof. Jan Achenbach presented Prof. Lanza di Scalea with the award at the 6th International Workshop on SHM held at Stanford University, September 11-13, 2007.

ICASP10 Overseas Student Scholarship Awarded

Michele Barbato was awarded the ICASP10 Overseas Student Scholarship after selection by the ICASP10 local Organizing Committee to present the paper "Extension of Spectral Characteristics to Complex-Valued Random Processes and Applications in Structural Reliability" by M. Barbato and J.P. Conte, at 10th International Conference on Applications of Statistics and Probability in Civil Engineering (ICASP10), August 1-3, 2007, Tokyo (Japan). The amount of the scholarship is 100,000 JPY.

Blasker Science and Technology Award Winner

Gillian Cutter, a master's student working with Dr. Karbhari, won the Blasker Science and Technology Award from the San Diego Foundation to pursue her research on renewable composite materials. Congratulations, Gillian, on this impressive achievement!

The Earthquake Engineering Institute Announces Graduate Fellowship Recipient

Barbara Chang, SE graduate student, was recently named the 2007-2008 winner of EERI Graduate Fellowship in Earthquake Hazard Reduction. The fellowship provides a nine-month stipend, and an additional amount to be used for tuition, fees, and research expenses. Congratulations, Barbara!

Prestigious Journal Names SE Professor New Associate Editor

Associate Professor, Francesco Lanza di Scalea, was recently named Associate Editor of the Journal of Intelligent Materials Systems and Structures.

American Concrete Institute Graduate Fellowship Announced

Matthew Tobolski, SE Graduate student, was selected as a 2007 finalist based on recommendations, academic achievements, and a supporting essay and selected to receive the fellowship based on an interview process at the last ACI Convention, in Atlanta, GA. This award includes travel to the next two ACI conventions (in Fajardo, Puerto Rico and Los Angeles, CA) as well as a stipend.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Graduate Fellowship Awarded
Matthew Tobolski, graduate student, received the Dwight D. Eisenhower Graduate Fellowship from the National Highway Institute of the Federal Highway Administration for the second year. This award provides funding to attend the Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

Charles "Chuck" Farrar elected a Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Charles "Chuck" Farrar, SE Adjunct Professor, has been recently elected a Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers, ASME, a prestigious distinction recognizing him for his many career contributions to the engineering field. Professor Farrar has 23 years experience as a technical staff member, project leader, and team leader at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL), and is internationally recognized for his sustained and outstanding scientific achievements in structural health monitoring (SHM) and damage prognosis. Farrar is a pioneer in SHM, proposing new concepts in statistical pattern recognition paradigms for SHM, recognizing environmental variability in SHM applications, and developing integrated hardware and software solutions for SHM problems. Farrar also led a LANL/UCSD Engineering Institute initiative that offers a formal graduate programs in the area of Damage prognosis and validated simulations in engineering mechanics. Congratulations, Professor Farrar!


Photo Not Available