Two SE Faculty Received Awards from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

Two SE faculty were honored with the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Applied Mechanics Division (AMD) Awards:

Prof. David Benson is the recipient of the Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Division Award. The award is given “To an outstanding individual for significant contributions in the practice of engineering mechanics; contributions may result from innovation, research, design, leadership or education.”

Prof. Yuri Bazilevs is the recipient of the Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award. The award is given for “Special achievement for young investigators in Applied Mechanics. Nominees must not have reached their 40th birthday at the time of Awards presentation.”

The Awards, which include a medal, a plaque, and an honorarium, will be presented at the AMD Banquet, tentatively scheduled on Tuesday, 13 November 2012, during the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, to be held in Houston, TX, November 9-15, 2012.

Photo Not Available