2006 Awards


Dean Seible Receives the Distinguished Humboldt Research Award2009

Frieder Seible, Dean of the Jacobs School of Engineering and Professor, has been named a 2006 Humboldt Research Award recipient. The prize from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is one of the most prestigious scientific honors in Germany, given to eminent foreign scholars in recognition of their lifetime academic achievements. Additionally, Prof. Seible received the 2006 Wason Award from the American Concrete Institute (ACI).


Dwight D. Eisenhower Graduate Fellowship Awarded2009

Matthew Tobolski, graduate student, received the Dwight D. Eisenhower Graduate Fellowship from the National Highway Institute of the Federal Highway Administration.


Professor Karbhari Receives President's Award from IIFC2009

Professor Vistasp Karbhari received the President’s Award from the International Institute of Fiber-Reinforced Polymer (FRP) in Construction (IIFC) in recognition by his peers for his “outstanding contributions to the IIFC as the Editor-in-Chief of FRP International and through other IIFC activities.”  Additionally, Prof. Karbhari was recently elected a Fellow of the International Institute of FRP in Construction (IIFC).


Professor Joel Conte selected as a Fulbright Scholar2009

SE Professor Joel P. Conte was recently awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant for study in Europe during the 2006-2007 academic year, according to the U.S. State Department and J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. The program operates in 150 countries worldwide. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields. Congratulations Professor Conte on this remarkable achievement!


Professor Uang Selected for Prestigious Award2009

The American Institute of Steel Construction announced SE Professor Chia-Ming Uang as recipient of the Special Achievement Award. This award is given in recognition to individuals who demonstrated notable singular or multiple achievements in structural steel design, construction, research, or education, and honors living individuals who have made a positive and substantial impact on the structural steel design and construction industry. The award ceremony will be held during the North American Steel Construction Conference in New Orleans on April 18, 2007. Congratulations, Professor Uang!


Precast Concrete Institute Announces Winners2009

SE Professor José Restrepo and Ph.D. student Matthew Schoettler were recently awarded the 2006 Charles C. Zollman award from the Precast Concrete Institute. Congratulations to Dr. Restrepo and Matthew on receiving this impressive award!


SE Professor, Dr. Joel Conte, Receives Coveted Distinguished Teaching Award2009

UCSD's Academic Senate recently determined the recipients for its 2006 Distinguished Teaching Awards, and the Department of Structural Engineering is proud to announce the selection of Professor Joel P. Conte.


Undergraduate Leadership Award Given to Philip Yu, President of SCSE2009

Philip Yu, the 2005-06 Chapter President, was recognized at a chapter event on May 31st. Yu received a certificate for “Outstanding Student Leadership” and a check for $1,000, to be used for academic purposes. The check was a joint gift from Dean Seible and the Department of Structural Engineering. Pictured here is Philip Yu with Professor Ahmed Elgamal (Department Chair) and Professor Chia-Ming Uang (AISC Chapter Advisor). Congratulations, Philip!


Chancellor's Research Scholarship Results2009

Undergrad Ryan Maloney has been awarded the Chancellor’s Research Scholarship for $3,000. Ryan’s faculty advisor is Professor Karbhari. Congratulations, Ryan, on this outstanding achievement!


John E. Starrett, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Results2009

Student Andrew J. Beattie is one of three recipients of the John E. Starrett, Jr. Memorial Scholarship, which includes Provost’s Honors. The scholarship consists of a $600 cash award and certificate. Congratulations, Andrew, on this great honor!


UCSD is selected for the 2006 Research Fellowship Award from the American Society for Non destructive Testing 2009

The research proposal entitled “Built-in system for the structural health monitoring of adhesively-bonded components in aerospace structures” by Ph.D. candidate Ivan Bartoli was selected to receive the 2006 award.


Bridge-monitoring poster wins grand prize at 2006 research expo2009

Structural Engineering's Hong Guan is awarded "best poster" among 250 poster presentation by graduate students at the Jacobs School's Research Expo. 

Photo Not Available