Student Chapter's Design Team Places First at National Competition

SE's Seismic Design Team, with twenty-seven students from the Society of Civil and Structural Engineers (SCSE) and the SE Department, recently attended the 2010 National Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition in San Francisco and received the award for First Place! This competition is hosted by the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI). With renewed interest and aggressive recruitment, the team grew from just eight members last year, to forty-five members this year. The Seismic Design Team and SCSE wishes to thank to their industry sponsors, SE's Dr. Lelli Van Den Einde, Steve Porter, and Ian Prowell, and also UCSD's Office of the Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs for the generous grant. This year's SCSE Officers include: Jose Acietuno (President), Huanming Cong (Project Manager), and Jeniene Knight (Fundraising Coordinator), and others. Congratulations, SCSE!

SCSE Award